07830 515357   | info@whitburnband.com

It was a special night for the Gourlay family, as Whitburn Band revealed its award winners for 2017.

In what was a momentous year for the band – with victories at the Scottish, Scottish Open and Grand Shield as well as a runner up spot at the British Open – Bb Bass star Alan Gourlay was voted by his fellow players to be awarded Whitburn’s Players’ Player of the Year.

Alan’s parents John and Margaret Gourlay were awarded Lifetime Membership of the Band for their fantastic contribution for many years, while Alan’s brother Neill was recognised for ten years membership of the band.

In the other awards, soprano cornet Scott Forrest was named Whitburn Band Player of the Year for a third time while Robert Fraser, Eb Bass, was named Whitburn Band Bandsperson of the Year for the second time.

There was a live link to America from the event, where Robert Davie received his Lifetime Membership Award of Whitburn surrounded by his family in his home in the United States.

Whitburn Heartlands and Whitburn Youth Band also dished out their awards for 2017, with Alexander Gordon, Jimmy Graham and Rachel Lee named as Players of the Year in their respective sections.

Full List of Award Winners

Whitburn Band Player of the Year – Scott Forrest
Whitburn Band Players’ Player of the Year – Alan Gourlay
Whitburn Band Bandsperson of the Year – Robert Fraser
Whitburn Band Life Membership – Robert Davie, John and Margaret Gourlay
Whitburn Band 25 Years Membership Medal – Mel Clark, Anne Crookston
Whitburn Band 10 Years Membership Medal – Stewart Brynes, Michael Fleming, Scott Forrest, Graham Fraser, John Fraser, Robert Fraser, Neill Gourlay, Jennifer Liddell

Whitburn Heartlands Junior Player of the Year – Alexander Gordon
Whitburn Heartlands Senior Player of the Year – Jimmy Graham

Whitburn Youth Band Player of the Year – Rachel Lee
Whitburn Youth Band Bandsperson of the Year – Emma Greig, Amber Gourlay, Olivia McMahon, Emily Royer, Rachel Swan
Whitburn Youth Band Most Improved Player – Erykah Boland

Barman of the Year – Bobby Hendrie (again!)